Recognizing Excellence and Celebrating Commitment

The National Association for Gifted Children (NAGC) will recognize the 2018 NAGC Award winners at the NAGC 65th Annual Convention in Minneapolis, MN, November 15-18, 2018. These outstanding leaders, scholars, advocates, and dedicated contributors support the growth and development of all gifted and talented children as they reach to achieve their personal best.

Awards Twitter.pngAnn F. Isaacs Founder’s Memorial Award

Susan Johnsen, professor emeritus of the Department of Educational Psychology at Baylor University

President’s Award

Cheryll Adams, Director Emerita of the Center for Gifted Studies and Talent Development at Ball State University

Administrator Award presented by Ball State University

Sheri Allen, Superintendent, and Heather Muller, Director of Teaching and Learning, Mankato Area Public Schools, MN

David W. Belin Advocacy Award presented by the Belin-Blank Center, University of Iowa

Jody Richards, Speaker of the Kentucky House of Representatives

Master’s and Specialist Award presented by Kendall Hunt

Karen Brown, Gifted Program Mentor, Paradise Valley Schools, AZ

Community Service Award

Terry Friedrichs, Consultant, Friedrichs Education, MN

Distinguished Scholar Award

Donald Ambrose, Professor of Graduate Education, Rider University 

Del Siegle, Associate Dean and Director, National Center for Research on Gifted Education, University of Connecticut, Storrs

Distinguished Service Award

F. Richard Olenchak, Department Head & Professor, Educational Psychology & Research Methodology,
Purdue University

Carolyn Callahan Doctoral Student Awards

Mehdi Ghahremani, Purdue University

Juliana Tay, Purdue University

Kristen Lamb, University of North Texas

Rebecca O’Brien, University of Connecticut

Early Leader Award

Bronwyn MacFarlane, Professor, University of Arkansas at Little Rock

Early Scholar Award

Lisa Rubenstein, Associate Professor at Teachers College, Ball State University

Gifted Coordinator Awards

Tania Lyon, Talent Development Coordinator, Mankato Area Public Schools, MN

April Wells, Coordinator of Gifted, Academies, Advanced Placement, and World Languages Elgin Area School District U-46, IL

Hollingworth Award

Ophelie Allyssa Desmet, Doctoral Fellow, and Nielsen Pereira, Assistant Professor, Gifted, Creative, and Talented Studies at Purdue University

Gifted Child Quarterly Paper of the Year

Minority Achievement Gaps in STEM: Finding of a Longitudinal Study of Project Excite (GCQ, Volume 61, Issue 1) – Paula Olszewski-Kubilius, Saiying Steenbegen-Hu, Dana Thomsan, and Rhoda Rosen

2018 NAGC Book of the Year Awards

Creativity and Innovation: Theory, Research, and Practice (Prufrock Academic Press) by Jonathan A. Plucker

To Be Gifted & Learning Disabled: Strength-Based Strategies for Helping Twice-Exceptional Students with LD, ADHD, ASD, and More (Prufrock Press, Inc.) by Susan M. Baum, Robin M. Schader, Steven V. Owen

Stressed Out!: Solutions to Help Your Child Manage and Overcome Stress (Prufrock Press, Inc.) by Mary Anne Richey, James W. Forgan