Recognizing Excellence and Celebrating Commitment in the Field of Gifted Education
August 20, 2019

The National Association for Gifted Children (NAGC) announced the 2019 NAGC Award winners who will be recognized at the NAGC 66th Annual Convention in Albuquerque, NM, November 7-10, 2019.

“These outstanding educators, leaders, scholars, and advocates support the growth and development of all gifted and talented children as they reach to achieve their personal best,” said Sally Krisel, NAGC Board President. “Their commitment and contributions extend well beyond the classroom and enhance the field of gifted education.”

2019 NAGC Award Winners

Ann F. Isaacs Founder’s Memorial Award

Julia Link Roberts, Mahurin Professor of Gifted Education and Executive Director of The Center for Gifted Studies, Western Kentucky University

President’s Award

Jacquelin Medina, Retired Director of Gifted Education, Colorado Department of Education

Master’s and Specialist Award presented by Kendall Hunt

Alissa Salazar Cress, Purdue University

David W. Belin Advocacy Award

Donna Campbell, Consultant, Arizona Association for Gifted and Talented

Community Service Award

Virginia Hamilton, Gifted Student Program Teacher, Quest Elementary School

Distinguished Scholar Award

Thomas Hébert, Professor of Gifted and Talented Education, College of Education, University of South Carolina

James L. Moore III, Vice Provost for Diversity and Inclusion and EHE Distinguished Professor, Department of Educational Studies, Ohio State University

Distinguished Service Award

Laurie Jane Croft, Clinical Professor, University of Iowa

Carolyn Callahan Doctoral Student Award

Jessa Luckey Goudelock, University of Georgia

Jaret Hodges, Purdue University

Sareh Karami, Purdue University

Early Leader Award

Keri M. Guilbault, Assistant Professor, Johns Hopkins University

Early Scholar Award

Karen Rambo-Hernandez, Associate Professor, Texas A&M

Gifted Coordinator Award

Dennis D. Jutras, Coordinator of Gifted and Advanced Learning, Baltimore City Public Schools

Geoffrey Moon, Gifted Education Program Lead, Santa Fe Public Schools

Bonnie O’Regan, Advanced Learning Program Facilitator, Greenwich Public Schools

The NAGC Awards Committee reviews the nominations from the field, and they make recommendations to the NAGC Board who selects the winners.

2019 NAGC Book of the Year Awards

Last month, NAGC announced the winners of the 2019 NAGC Book of the Year Award, recognizing excellence in books published in gifted and talented education.

Talent Development as a Framework for Gifted Education: Implications for Best Practices and Applications in Schools (Prufrock Academic Press) by Paula Olszewski-Kubilius, Rena F. Subotnik, and Frank C. Worrell

A Teacher's Guide to Flexible Grouping and Collaborative Learning (Free Spirit Publishing) by Dina Brulles and Karen L. Brown

Differently Wired: Raising an Exceptional Child in a Conventional World (Workman Publishing) by Deborah Reber

The NAGC Publications Committee oversees the annual Book of the Year Award program, and every book that is submitted is reviewed by several members who bring expertise to a specific area: Scholar, practitioner, and parent/caregiver.


The National Association for Gifted Children (NAGC) is a membership organization whose mission is to support those who enhance the growth and development of gifted and talented children through education, advocacy, community building, and research. 

CONTACT:  Cathleen Healy,

Follow NAGC on Twitter and Facebook.