NAGC Board Recognizes Susan Johnsen with the 2018 Ann F. Isaacs Founder’s Memorial Award
September 20, 2018

The National Association for Gifted Children (NAGC) Board of Directors is honored to recognize Susan Johnsen, for her distinguished service to NAGC and gifted education, with the 2018 NAGC Ann F. Isaacs Founder’s Memorial Award. Dr. Johnsen is a professor emeritus of the Department of Educational Psychology at Baylor University where she founded and directed the PhD program and programs related to gifted and talented education.

Dr. Johnsen will receive the Isaacs Founder’s Memorial Award at the NAGC 65th Annual Convention in Minneapolis, MN, November 15-18.

“When we first think of Dr. Johnsen’s work, we are likely to think of standards,” said Sally Krisel, NAGC Board President.  “Susan was a primary author of the NAGC programming and teacher preparation standards, but her contributions extend well beyond this important work. Susan has written tests used in identifying gifted students and provided strategies to address equitable identification of gifted children.

“Dr. Johnsen is especially well known for her publications and presentations on guiding gifted students in research and independent study. She has been a constant, powerful presence at our national conventions and state conferences and events sponsored by other professional organizations.”


The National Association for Gifted Children (NAGC) is a membership organization whose mission is to support those who enhance the growth and development of gifted and talented children through education, advocacy, community building, and research. 

CONTACT:  Cathleen Healy,

Follow NAGC on Twitter and Facebook.