Nicholas Green Distinquished Student Award

The Nicholas Green Distinguished Student Award Program was launched by NAGC in 1996 with a contribution by Reg and Maggie Green, of Bodega Bay, California, in honor of the memory of their seven-year-old son Nicholas, who was killed in a drive-by shooting while visiting Italy in 1994. The Greens donated the savings from their son’s college fund with a request that NAGC create a program to support the accomplishments of bright children who were approximately Nicholas’s age at the time of his death. NAGC discontinued the award after funding ran out, but many states continue the award program on their own. To support the states' programs, NAGC issues a national letter of congratulations and an award certificate to each winner as directed by each state association. In addition, parents of each winner will receive complimentary parent membership in NAGC for one year.

See below for contact informtion in states with Nicholas Green Student Awards.

State Contacts

Click on your state or scroll down for a full list.
If you are a state affiliate and your contact person's information is not correct, please call the NAGC office (202-785-4268)

Arkansas Maryland Ohio
California Massachusetts Oklahoma
Colorado Michigan Oregon
Connecticut Minnesota Pennsylvania
Florida Mississippi Tennessee
Missouri
Nebraska
South Dakota
Illinois
New Hampshire
Utah
Indiana New Jersey Vermont
Kansas New Mexico Virginia
Kentucky North Carolina West Virginia
Maine   Wisconsin
    Wyoming

 

ARKANSAS
Karm Prock
Arkansans for Gifted and Talented Education
kprock@searcyschools.org
Website: http://arkansasgt.weebly.com/

CALIFORNIA
Joan Lindsay Kerr
California Association for the Gifted
ATTN: Nicholas Green Distinguished Student Award
14311 Talon Grove Drive
Bakersfield, CA 93306
Phone: 661-861-9552
Email: joan.kerr@hotmail.com
Website: www.CAGifted.org

COLORADO
Colorado Association for Gifted & Talented
Bev Emery
Phone: (303) 332-9515
Email: BevRealtor@aol.com
Website: http://www.coloradogifted.org/

CONNECTICUT
Stephanie Heisler, CAG Program Coordinator
Connecticut Association for the Gifted
Phone: (203) 291-6586
Email: programcoordinator@ctgifted.org
Website: www.ctgifted.org

FLORIDA
Lynn Albinson
Director of HATS (High Achieving Talented Students) Programs
Stetson University
421 N. Woodland Blvd., Unit 8390
RE: Nicholas Green Award
DeLand, FL 32723
Phone: (386)-822-7091
Email: hats@stetson.edu
http://www.flagifted.org/

ILLINOIS
Illinois Association for Gifted Children
Attn: Nancy Heaton
800 E. Northwest Highway, Suite 610
Palatine, IL 60074
Phone: 847-963-1892
Email: IAGCPal1@sbcglobal.net

INDIANA
Indiana Association for the Gifted
Billie Moore
Indianapolis Public Schools
120 E. Walnut, Room 503
Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone: (317) 226-4794
Email: mooreb@ips.k12.in.us

KANSAS
Melissae Stiles
Student Opportunities Director, KGTC
436 W 10th
Concordia, KS 66901
Phone: 785-243-2452
Email: mstiles@usd333.com
Website: www.kgtc.org

KENTUCKY
Kentucky Association for Gifted Education
Lynette Baldwin
P.O. Box 9610
Bowling Green, KY 42102-9610
Phone: (270) 559-6607
Email: lbaldwin@wk.net
Website: www.kagegifted.org

MAINE
Maine Educators of Gifted & Talented
Lisa Bernier
Dr. Levesque Elementary School
PO Box 489
Frenchville, ME  04745
lbernier@msad33.org
Website: www.megat.org/awardinfo.html

MARYLAND
Maryland Educators of Gifted Students (MEGS)
Helaine Zinaman
5430 Lynx Lane #282
Columbia, MD 21044
Email: hzinaman@megsonline.net
Website: www.megsonline.net

MASSACHUSETTS
Massachusetts Association for Gifted Education
Larry Osborne
88 North St.
Middleboro, MA 02346
Email: Buzzellie88@aol.com

MICHIGAN
Michigan Alliance for Gifted Education
PO Box 70702
Rochester Hills, MI 48307
Phone: (616) 365-8230
Email: alliance@migiftedchild.org

MINNESOTA
Minnensota Educators for the Gifted and Talented
Marty Hartmann
11786 West 240th Street
Belle Plaine, MN 56011
Phone: (952) 215-2543
Email: mhartmann@belleplaine.k12.mn.us
Website: www.megt.org

MISSISSIPPI
Mississippi Association for the Gifted
Sherry Willis
1013 John Allen Drive
Baldwyn, MS 38824
Phone: (662) 365-2283
Email: sherry@rcrotorworld.com
Website: www.msms.k12.ms.us/MAGC

MISSOURI
Gifted Association of Missouri
P.O. Box 3252
Springfield, MO 65808
Website: http://www.mogam.org/awards-and-scholarships.html

NEBRASKA
Nebraska Association for the Gifted
John Thomsen
2623 N. 145th Ave.
Omaha, NE 68116
Phone: (402) 880-9103
Email: negifted@gmail.com
Website: www.negifted.org

NEW HAMPSHIRE
New Hampshire Association for Gifted Education
Teresa Morris
81 Fitzgerald Drive; Unit 2
Jaffrey, NH 03452
Phone: (603) 532-8100 ext. 213
Email: t.morris@sau47.k12.nh.us
Website: http://www.nhage.org/

NEW JERSEY
New Jersey Association for Gifted Children
P.O. Box 667
Mount Laurel, NJ 08054
Email: nicholasgreen@njagc.org
Website: www.njagc.org

NEW MEXICO
New Mexico Association of the Gifted (NMAG)
Melena Hulett
P.O. Box 13945
Las Cruces, NM 88013
(575) 527-6030 ext. 4020
Email: mhulett@lcps.k12.nm.us
 
NORTH CAROLINA
North Carolina Association for the Gifted & Talented
Dr. Wesley E. Guthrie
P.O. Box 899
Swansboro, NC 28584-0899
Phone: (910) 326-8463
Email: wguthrie@coastalnet.com

OHIO
Ohio Association for Gifted Children
Sally Roberts
PO Box 30801
Gahanna, OH 43230
attn: Nicholas Green Distinguished Student Award
Phone: (937) 236-5195
Email: hhtisroberts@mdeca.org
Website: www.oagc.com

OKLAHOMA
Oklahoma Association for the Gifted, Creative, & Talented, Inc.
Linnea Van Eman
OAGCT
PO Box 60448, NW Station
Oklahoma City, OK 73146
Email: awards@oagct.org
Website: http://oagct.org/
Nicholas Green forms: http://oagct.org/wp-content/uploads/nicholas-green.pdf

OREGON
Oregon Association for the Talented & Gifted
Kathe Oliver
PO Box 1703
Beaverton, OR 97075
Phone & Fax: (206) 350-2156
Email: oatag@mac.com

PENNSYLVANIA
Pennsylvania Association for Gifted Education (PAGE)
Kimm Doherty, PAGE Affiliate Director
PO Box 312
Northampton, PA 18067
Phone: 1-888-736-6443
Email: pageaffiliatedir@gmail.com

SOUTH DAKOTA
Debra Hansen
Robert Frost Elementary School
3101 S. Fourth Street
Sioux Falls, South Dakota 57105
Phone: (605) 367-6170
Email: debra.hansen@k12.sd.us

TENNESSEE
Tennessee Association for the Gifted
Lucy Roberts
120 N. Maney Ave.
Murfreesboro, TN 37130
Phone: (615) 893-3570
Email: robertsl@rcs.k12.tn.us
Website: www.tag-tenn.org

UTAH
Utah Association for Gifted Children
Michele Riggs
PO Box 9332
Salt Lake City, UT 84109
Phone: (801) 461-9002
Email: mriggs@graniteschools.org
Website: www.uagc.org

VERMONT
No 2016 Award
Vermont Council for Gifted Education


VIRGINIA
Virginia Association for the Gifted
Liz Nelson
PO Box 26212
Richmond, VA 23260-6212
Phone: (804) 355-5945
Email: vagifted@comcast.net
Website: www.vagifted.org

WEST VIRGINIA
West Virginia Association of Gifted and Talented
Megan Sheeley
PO Box 695
Franklin, WV 26807
Phone:
Email: shirlisure13@hotmail.com
Website: www.wvgifted.org

WISCONSIN
Wisconsin Association for Talented & Gifted
Nancy Woodward, Executive Director
1553 Smithfield Dr.
Sun Prairie, WI 53590
Email: watg@watg.org

WYOMING
Wyoming Advocates for Gifted Education
Marcia McChesney
28 Owl Creek Road
Sheridan, WY 82601
Phone: (307) 672-0995
Email: co1mgm@sheridan.k12.wy.us