Recognizing passionate, innovative educators
August 30, 2016

WASHINGTON – The National Association for Gifted Children (NAGC) has announced the 2016 Javits-Frasier Scholars. The program recognizes passionate, innovative educators who work in districts that serve students from low-income and minority populations that are historically underrepresented in gifted education.

“The Javits-Frasier scholars are leaders and a voice for gifted students from disadvantaged backgrounds,” said M. René Islas, Executive Director. “NAGC is committed to providing opportunities and resources to better understand and serve all gifted children.”

The Javits-Frasier Scholars will network with and learn from other teachers and leaders in gifted education at the NAGC 63rd Annual Convention at Disney’s Coronado Springs Resort in Florida, November 3-6, 2016.

2016 Javits-Frasier Scholars




Kim Ayers

Cielo Azul Elementary School

Rio Rancho, NM

Stacci Barganz

Fort Atkinson Middle School

Johnson Creek, WI

Tara Distabile

Idelwild Elementary School

Cornelius, NC

Elizabeth Dunlap

Fair Oaks Elementary School

Smyrna, GA

Elizabeth Erickson

Lake Superior Elementary School

Ashland, WI

Michelle Gay

Foley Elementary School

Daphne, AL

Jennifer Goode

Barbara Bush Elementary School

Mesa, AZ

Asiaa Karriem

Bazoline E. Usher-Collier Elementary School

Atlanta, GA

Christine Lewis

Desert Cove Elementary

Phoenix, AZ

Lauren Lindsey

Brown Middle School

Chattanooga, TN

Melody Paga-Vela

Dwight D. Eisenhower Elementary School

Palm Beach Gardens, FL

Amy Rodocker

Sullivan Elementary School

Worthington, OH

Jerilyn Williams

Hamilton E. Holmes Elementary School

College Park, GA